Tour it!

Just over a year ago, I embarked on an amazing adventure.  I went on the Topdeck ‘Winter Spirit‘ tour with a fabulous group of people (I’ve caught up with quite a few of my Europe friends when I have travelled interstate #bonded).  I have spoken to people over the last year who have been hesitant to go on such a tour.  But I’m here to tell you that there is no better way to get your first taste of Europe…I mean come on, where do you start? How long do you spend in each place? How do you get around?  How do you learn 23 different languages? Going on this tour was a wonderful way for me to not only get a taste for the wonder that is Europe (I now know where I want to spend more time) but I didn’t need to stress about all of the above (and many more) questions.

Many people may be under the impression that these kind of tours are all about drinking your way through a list of countries.  Whilst I can’t say that I didn’t touch a drop, I can say that my tour was about so much more than that.  I learnt more about history and geography than I ever learnt while I was at school.  I went to Auschwitz, which was one of the concentration camps used by the Nazi regime during World War II.  It was of course a very emotional and eery place to visit, but in the words of George Santayana;

“The one who does not remember history is bound to live through it again”

Here is a list of the countries I visited on my 2012 tour:

  • London
  • France
  • Switzerland
  • Italy
  • Austria
  • Hungary
  • Slovakia
  • Poland
  • Czech Republic
  • Netherlands

So which countries were my favourites?  Austria and Switzerland…I seriously couldn’t get enough of the snow!  Don’t be discouraged about going to Europe in winter, there were so many perks.  Lines were virtually non-existent, there’s snow, you get to wear cute coats, there’s snow, there’s christmas markets with carollers and oh, there’s snow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy travelling!

~LG

Leave a Reply

